Skip to main content

Referencing & Bibliographies: Home

Guide and resources for creating bibliographies.

Guide Creator

Introduction

Introduction

It is important to always acknowledge the work of others.

When you conduct research and gather information, make sure you keep a record of your sources to include in a bibliography. There are some great tools available to help you do this. See the bibliography tools tab for some suggestions.

Creating a Bibliography

There are several different ways to format a bibliography. Schools and universities often specify a particular style or format that you must adhere to.

At TIGS we use the Harvard system of referencing. This style of referencing originated from Harvard University.

For help to create a bibliography using the Harvard system, visit the bibliography tools tab at the top of this page.

To learn more about the different types of referencing systems, or styles, visit this link or read the information in the box below.

The video guides on the right will also help you to understand more about referencing.

Referencing Styles

Referencing Styles

To make reference lists and bibliographies consistent and easy to read there are predefined styles stating how to set them out - these are called citation styles. Different subjects prefer to each use different styles. The following are the most popular:

  • Harvard, which is very similar to another style called APA. Harvard referencing is the most well used referencing style in the UK, and is encouraged for use with the humanities. APA is considered the American equivalent.

  • MLA. MLA is most often applied by the arts and humanities, particularly in the USA.

  • Vancouver. The Vancouver system is mainly used in medical and scientific papers.

  • Chicago and Turabian. These are two seperate styles but are very similar, just like Harvard and APA. These are widely used for history and economics.

Regardless of what subject you're writing for, you should use the styles recommended by your teacher, school or university.

From: Cite This for Me

Why Referencing?

 

Guide to Referencing

A Guide to Referencing

Harvard System

The Harvard Style of Bibliography